Accidents While Driving Out of State
The Cape Cod car accident attorneys at the Law Offices of John C. Manoog, III represent victims throughout Massachusetts who have been injured in a variety of motor vehicle collisions. We have been serving the local community since 1994, and we have a strong history of successes for the people whom we represent. Our firm combines the personalized service that comes with a local law firm and the knowledge, skill, and resources that come with over 146 years of combined legal experience. We fight aggressively to seek the full compensation that victims deserve.Asserting Your Rights after an Out-of-State Accident
Out-of-state accidents can raise some challenging legal issues. Usually, the law of the state in which the accident happens will apply to any case related to the crash. This means that you need to sue in the state where the accident took place, even if you have since traveled back to (or away from) Massachusetts.
Most car accident cases involve claims based on negligence. Although the legal intricacies may vary by state, negligence laws generally hold car, truck, and other drivers to a “duty of care.” This duty obligates drivers to operate their vehicles in a reasonably safe manner and to avoid dangerous behavior like speeding, drinking and driving, or disregarding traffic signs. A driver who fails to live up to this duty is likely to be considered responsible for any accident that he or she causes as a result.
A number of state laws shape negligence cases. Massachusetts, for example, operates under a three-year statute of limitations for car crashes. This means that you need to file suit within three years of the accident in order to avoid having the case dismissed, unless any of a narrow set of exceptions applies. Vermont and New Hampshire also use a three-year limitations period. In Maine, however, a person injured in a car accident typically has six years from the date of the accident to bring a case.
Massachusetts is considered a modified comparative negligence state. As a result, a victim partly responsible for a collision can still sue others responsible for the crash, as long as the injured person is not 51 percent or more at fault. In these cases, the injured person can potentially still recover some damages based on proportionate fault. The system is similar to those in place in Connecticut and New Hampshire. Other states, like Maryland and Virginia, use a contributory negligence scheme in which a person who is at all to blame for an accident usually cannot recover any damages.Protect Your Rights by Consulting a Car Accident Attorney on Cape Cod
At the Law Offices of John C. Manoog, III, our Cape Cod car accident lawyers can fight for the rights of people from outside Massachusetts who have been involved in crashes in the Bay State, as well as people from Massachusetts who have been injured elsewhere. Our motor vehicle collision lawyers have dedicated their careers to helping the people whom we represent get back on their feet after an accident. Our offices are conveniently located in Hyannis and Plymouth, where we are pleased to offer free consultations. We are also happy to travel to you if you cannot make it to us. We do not charge a fee in many cases unless we are successful. Call us at 888-262-6664 or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation. Nós Falamos Português.